As a die hard chelsea fan, am starting to get a feeling of de' ja vu! We were in this same position last season, chasing Man Utd for the title with about 5 matches to go and then inexplicably we started dropping points against the so called struggling teams.
Last Monday night's draw against Wigan is 2 points lost and not a point won as some would want to believe. It was a very drab display in the first half, Joe Cole's introduction in the second half woke up the sleeping giants and a goal became inevitable considering the amount of pressure that was applied on the resolute Wigan defence.
We had our goal and then we couldn't hold on to it as has been the norm this season. This is the third match this season that teams will be picking points against the Blues in injury time. Everton scored through Tim Cahill at Stamphord Bridge in the 91st minute to tie the game; and then Aston Villa through Gareth Barry Made it 4-4 in the 92nd minute through a deserved penalty. Avram Grant is still insisting that the title is not lost yet-http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/7347647.stm .
I dont think we should be depending on other teams (Blackburn, West Ham, Wigan) to do us any favour against Man Utd. We had our destiny in our hands on Monday night but a Big Man by the name Emile Heskey threw it away in our own very eyes!!.
The next match is against Everton for Thursday (I can just smell a conspiracy here against Chelsea- why do we have to play Monday and then Thursday when other teams have had like 7days rest from their previous matches?). Its a make or mar match for the Blues. We need to win to keep the glimmer of hope alive albeit a small one.
Verdicts: We need a world class coach (not an AVRAM GRANT ), Anelka is proving to be a huge mistake (can't count number of goals lost through him). Our chance of any silverware this season lies in the Champions League but that wont happen if we continue to play at very mediocre level as is the case right now.


No comments:
Post a Comment